Based on her observations and work with children, Dr. Montessori defined four planes of development, each characterized by sensitive periods for learning.

First Plane: Ages 0-6 “Early Childhood” (Individual Creation of the Person)

“I can do it myself.”

This stage is characterized by the young child’s “absorbent mind.” Children have a desire for physical independence and are interested in real activities with an intelligent purpose. Sensitive periods during this plane include: movement, language, small objects, toileting, order, music, grace and courtesy, senses, writing, reading, spatial relationships, and mathematics.

Second Plane: Ages 6-12 “Childhood” (Construction of the Intelligence)

“I can think it myself.”

Children in the second plane of development have a thirst for knowledge, love of imagination, fascination with fairness, and a desire for intellectual independence.  This is the time for “cosmic education,” in which the child explores his/her place within the world and comes to appreciate the interconnectedness of all things. This is also the “bridge to abstraction”—the transition from concrete to abstract thinking. Children in this plane have a desire for intellectual independence.

Third Plane: Ages 12-18 “Adolescence” (Construction of the Social Self)

“I can stand on my own.”

Children in the third plane of development are characterized by self concern and self assessment. This is a sensitive period for both critical thinking and exploring social and moral values. Adolescents in this plane have a desire for emotional independence.

Fourth Plane: Ages 18-24 and Beyond “Adulthood” (Construction of Self Understanding)

“I can get it myself.”

The fourth plane of development is characterized by the construction of the spiritual self. Young adults are in the process of conscious discernment of right and wrong, seeking to discover their place within the world. Young adults in the plane have a desire for financial independence.

Intense Change & Assimilation

Within each plane, the child undergoes a period of intense change, followed by a period of assimilation. This is also true within each three-year cycle. For this reason, the third year in Montessori classroom is sometimes been called the leap year. This is when students internalize all the various skills for which they have both indirectly and directly prepared during the earlier years. It is also the time when students become self-possessed learners, confident in their abilities.  It’s when they emerge as leaders, eager to share their skills with their younger peers.

Rising second and third year students enter the classroom in September with newfound confidence and autonomy, ready to take on leadership roles and greater independence. Children who move up to the next level of their Montessori education thrill at the opportunity to embark upon on a new and exciting journey!

Learn more about the Maryland Center for Montessori Studies.